October 16th webcast: Bridging the gap on fully integrated smart vision systems

This webcast will be held on October 16, 2019
1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

Register here!

Webcast Description:

In a typical machine vision system, camera, optics, and lighting each have their own performance criteria and control schemes. If there is any communication between these components, it’s vendor specific and proprietary. The vision industry has worked to standardize the physical interface of the camera component and implement GenICam as a common API to program all recognized imagers, but the standardization of the interface has not extended to lens and lighting components, which limits joint commands or interoperation between all vision components within a system.

However, recent efforts by Smart Vision Lights have helped successfully incorporate smart lighting into the GenICam standard and subsequent initiatives have aimed to do the same for optics. When completed, these initiatives will allow GenICam to serve as a common control layer between cameras, lenses, and lighting. In practical terms, this could lead to turnkey vision systems that support true plug-and-play commissioning, fully integrated control, and simpler synchronization of all components.

A free presentation on October 16 will explore the challenges, efforts, and potential opportunities behind the development of standards to enable new, cost-effective machine vision solution designs. 

Presented by:

Steve Kinney
Sales Manager - Western Region
Smart Vision Lights


Steve Kinney is an Electrical Engineer who began his career as an Inertial + Radar Navigation Technician in the USAF. After his return to civilian life in 1990, he worked on several R&D and product development projects with major companies in California's Silicon Valley before joining Pulnix America and entering the machine vision industry in 1998.

Working for Pulnix, Basler, JAI and CCS, he has many years of machine vision imaging experience and has become an expert in industrial cameras and imagers. Since starting work in the lighting sector of Machine Vision in early 2015, he now combines camera expertise with machine vision lighting to bring an expanded knowledge base to the machine vision market.

Steve has additionally been an active AIA member. He was chairman of the AIA's Camera Link Committee for 20 years, since its inception in 1999 through March 2019. Steve has also been a major material contributor and instructor for the AIA Certified Vision Professional (CVP) program in both the Basic and Advanced CVP Camera + Sensor Technologies courses. Steve currently manages sales and business development activities across the Western US for Smart Vision Lights.

 Watch on any mobile device – phone or tablet - or listen while you drive to work!

Sponsored by:

Register/View
More in Home