AIA announces 2009-2010 board of directors, re-elects Mike Cyros president

FEBRUARY 5, 2009--The Automated Imaging Association (AIA) announced its newly elected board of directors for 2009-2010 at its annual Business Conference in San Diego, CA, USA.

FEBRUARY 5, 2009--The Automated Imaging Association (AIA; Ann Arbor, MI, USA; announced its newly elected board of directors for 2009-2010 at its annual Business Conference in San Diego, CA, USA. The AIA is the world's largest trade association for the global machine vision and imaging industry.

Michael Cyros, president of Allied Vision Technologies, has been re-elected AIA president for 2009. "I am pleased to continue serving the industry in this important role," Cyros said. "With today's economic situation, companies need their trade association more than ever. We will continue helping our members expand their business through our initiatives in new market development, education, and our commitment to global standards development. We'll further support the industry with events like The Vision Show and the International Robots, Vision & Motion Control Show where people can learn how to use this crucial technology and meet the leading suppliers. In addition, we'll continue our expansion of our market study to include relevant world economic data and trend analysis. These initiatives will assist business development for our members and grow the industry, which is the core mission of the AIA," he explained.

Newly elected to two-year terms on the AIA Board are George Chamberlain, president and co-founder, Pleora Technologies; Gregory Hollows, director of machine vision solutions, Edmund Optics; and Peter Tang, vice president, innovation and technology, ATS Automation.

"We're looking forward to the valuable insights and exciting new input these directors will bring to the AIA; each of these gentlemen offers unique industry experience that will help us reach our goals, and further rounds out the industry representation of the board," said Dana Whalls, AIA's managing director.

Returning board members elected to new two-year terms include Jørgen Andersen, CEO/president, JAI; Michael Cyros, president, Allied Vision Technologies; Rob Giesen, senior group manager, National Instruments; John Jennings, chief commercial officer, Basler Vision Technologies; John Merva, executive vice president, Advanced illumination; Amir Novini, president/CEO, Applied Vision Co.; Rusty Ponce de Leon, president, Phase 1 Technology Corp.; Keith Reuben, president, DALSA Asia-Pacific; and Edward Roney, national account manager, Intelligent Robotics, FANUC Robotics America.

More in Robotics