SPIE announces newly elected 2011 officers and directors

Aug. 11, 2010
SPIE president Ralph James announced the recent election results at the Annual General Meeting of the Society. Terms begin 1 January 2011. Katarina Svanberg was elected as the 2011 President.

At SPIE headquarters in Bellingham, WA, president Ralph James announced the recent election results at the Annual General Meeting of the Society on 3 August 2010 in San Diego, CA. Terms begin 1 January 2011.

The 2011 Society Officers:

Katarina Svanberg was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2011 President. Svanberg is Professor of Oncology and Chief Physician in Oncology at Lund University, Sweden. She received her M.D. and Ph.D. in Medical Science from Lund University. Svanberg is an SPIE Fellow, a recipient of the SKAPA Innovation Prize, and has given invited talks at over 85 international conferences and 30 foreign universities. She lists some of her technical interests as clinical oncology for the abatement of human malignant diseases and optical spectroscopy for detection and treatment of malignant tumors. She has supervised activities for a large number of Ph.D. students in biomedical optics.

Eustace N. Dereniak was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2011 President-Elect. Dereniak is a professor at the College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona. He received his MS in Electrical Engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and his PhD in Optical Sciences from the University of Arizona. Dereniak is an SPIE Fellow, and also serves on the SPIE Strategic Planning Committee. His technical interests include infrared detectors and 2-dimensional arrays, photodetector arrays, materials of detectors, and germanium vs. silicon. He received the Award of Distinction for Undergraduate Teaching from the University of Arizona College Of Optical Sciences in 2006, and has served as an SPIE Conference Chair in Infrared Detectors and Focal Plane Arrays, Infrared Photoelectronics, Semiconductor Photodetectors, Imaging Spectrometers, and Infrared Technology.

William H. Arnold was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2011 Vice President. Arnold is Chief Scientist, and Vice President of Technology Development Center at ASML USA, Inc. He received his MS in Physics from the University of Chicago, and a BA in Physics from Hampshire College. Arnold is a Fellow of the Society and has served on numerous committees, including as Chair of the Publications Committee. He is also Senior Editor of the SPIE Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMs, and MOEMs (JM3) since 2002. His technical interests include optical and EUV lithography; semiconductor devices and chip manufacturing and nanoscale processing for future electronic and photonics devices.

Brian A. Lula was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2011 Secretary/Treasurer. Lula is the president and CEO of PI (Physik Instrumente) LP. He graduated in mechanical engineering from Centennial College, Ontario, Canada, and completed advanced engineering courses at the University of Michigan. His technical interests include micro and nanopositioning technologies, telescope mechanical/optical system design and fabrication, astronomical imaging, and optical manufacturing and testing. Lula is a world class CCD astronomical imager/educator with published photos in popular astronomy magazines such as Sky & Telescope, Astronomy, CBS National and local TV news, NASA's Astrophoto of the Day (APOD) and was featured in a personal exhibit at the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum in Washington DC.

The newly elected Society Directors; three-year term, 2011-2013:

Peter Hartmann, Director, Market and Customer Relations, Advanced Optics, SCHOTT AG.
Joseph M. Howard, Optical Engineer, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center.
Lisa M. Tsufura, Marketing Manager/Product Manager, CVI Laser Group.
Toyohiko Yatagai, Professor, Utsunomiya University.

For more information, visit the SPIE website.

Posted by Vision Systems Design

Voice Your Opinion

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Vision Systems Design, create an account today!